Date: 26th February 2018 at 8:52pm
Written by:

Bristol City trio Joe Bryan, Aden Flint and Lee Johnson are represented in the League Cup Team of the Tournament that has been selected after this weekend’s Final between Arsenal and Manchester City.

The performances by Joe Bryan and Aden Flint in Bristol City’s EFL Cup run this season was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other most impressive performers in the League Cup competition and head coach Lee Johnson was selected to manage that side.

I think we’ll already know ourselves why the trio were selected as part of the team but explaining the choice – the EFL Cup blurb read.


‘Bryan caught the eye bursting down the left-hand side for Bristol City during their run to the semi-finals, while the wing-back performed his defensive duties just as ably. It was going forward where he really made his mark though, and in some style – winning the Goal of the Round in consecutive ties, against Crystal Palace and Manchester United.’


‘This Robin excelled at both ends of the pitch, but it was at the heart of the defence where Flint really stood out; a rock at the back as they progressed to the last four. He helped keep a clean sheet against Stoke City, while a superb goal-line clearance, and a goal of his own, kept their hopes alive in the semi-final.’


‘The two managers here at Wembley today of course stake a claim, but Johnson was the mastermind as Sky Bet Championship side Bristol City became the story of this season`s Carabao Cup. Four Premier League sides – Watford, Stoke City, Crystal Palace and Manchester United – were dispatched, before the Robins pushed Manchester City all the way in the two-legged semi-final.’

It’s always good to see the club represented in this way, and well played to all three for their recognition.

Full Team:

Will Norris (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Joe Bryan (Bristol City), Aden Flint (Bristol City), Rob Holding (Arsenal), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Islam Slimani (Leicester City), Josh Murphy (Norwich City).

Manager – Lee Johnson (Bristol City).


Your Comment